February Favourites 2017

Another month has gone by so you know what that means. It’s time for another monthly favourites. February was a pretty great month. I made so many great new discoveries and revisited old favourites that I can’t wait to share with you for the first time. Enjoy!

Fashion

Cold shoulder top

Look_31_054

A style that I never really considered before, the cold shoulder top is super stylish, and I love it. For those who don’t know what it is, it’s a top in which the middle part of the sleeve on top has been taken out, so there is a hole there. It is really comfy and I think it looks really cute, and even though I only have one I have worn it a lot. Another plus is that you can wear it with pretty much anything. Pair it with jeans and a beanie it can look super casual, or with a pair of dress pants it can look slightly more dressy. Either way this is one fashion pieces that I think should be in everyone’s closet.

Koala slippers

567-561-1-72_032_1

I have a weakness for the cute and fuzzy, which is why I just had to buy these slippers. I bought them from La Vie en Rose while buying pyjamas and could not be happier. They are so comfortable and soft, and I wear them all the time when i’m at home. I like that they cover just enough of the foot, so they can be worn when it is cold or a bit warmer. The end of each slipper has an adorable little koala face on it, which is just too cute for words. Something else that I love is despite the furry material, the slippers have not become matted, and the fur has not come off on the carpet. If you need new slippers then I would highly suggest these.

Beauty

NARS concealer

url

I have been really happy with NARS lately. Their bronzer is so nice, and I just recently purchased this concealer that is so perfect. It is light, matches skin tone so well, and is so easy to blend that I can just do it with my fingers. It gives really nice coverage and doesn’t have a sticky finish to it either like some other concealers. The shade that I have is called creme brûlée which is hilarious considering the fact that I am quite pale. It comes in a huge variety of shades for all skin tones so if you need a good concealer that isn’t too thick and gives good coverage then definitely look into this one.

Nude lipstick

b73d25bf3fd4d58b820c0176a68625e6-1

I usually love to wear super bright lipsticks, or dark lipsticks but recently I have begun to experiment with nude lipstick. I have fairly brightish coloured lips naturally, so I find it a little bit difficult sometimes to find the right shade. Funny enough I accidentally ended up buying a nude lipstick that was the exact shade of my lips. My personal favourite two lipsticks are from the brands Bite and The Body Shop. Both are beautiful colours and so smooth. Nude lipstick goes with everything so I would highly suggest that if you haven’t tried it out yet, you consider trying it.

Food

Bark Thins

16602128

For those of you who don’t know I have lactose intolerance, but I love chocolate, so I have a limit to how many different types of chocolate I can have. I can have dark chocolate obviously, but sometimes plain dark chocolate gets old. As a result I am often on the lookout for good mixes and this one is so perfect. Filled with sea salt and pumpkin seeds they are sweet and salty, and a perfect snack. I honestly eat these so much it is ridiculous. Better yet you can pretty big sized bags of them from Costco for really cheap. Need a good healthy snack, definitely buy these.

Pineapple

1f2e5648ddf1b2dbae542a991f2efce3

Speaking of delicious, healthy and sweet snacks, there is nothing better than pineapple. Weirdly enough before a few months ago I had never really liked it all that much, but for the past month I have been eating so much pineapple. What else can I even say about pineapple. It’s a great fruit, and you should definitely eat it because it is so good for you.

Books

Neil Gaiman’s Norse mythology

NorseMythology_Hardback_1473940163

I have only just started reading this book, but so far it is just amazing. For those who don’t know Neil Gaiman has been one of my favourite authors since I was a kid. His writing is so expertly crafted, and compelling no matter what it is he’s writing about I am always enthralled. This is certainly no exception. I have read a lot about Norse mythology before, but somehow he made it all seem brand new. He weaves each legend in the form of a greater overarching story, and includes his own personal experiences and anecdotes to give it that extra little touch. If you are not interested in mythology you might not like it too much, but if you are then you definitely don’t want to miss this book.

TV

X Files

X-Files

X Files is a pretty old show, but it really is a classic. It’s one of those shows that I think that everyone should watch at least once, but be warned because it is super creepy. Agents Mulder and Scully work for the FBI investigating the X Files; a series of bizarre unexplained cases, with potentially supernatural connections. Extraterrestrial encounters, weird mutations, and secret government conspiracies. This shows is thrilling from the get go, and episodes like Squeeze will never be out of my nightmares. If you can handle the creepiness then I think you would love this show.

Thank you so much for reading my February Favourites, I really hope that you enjoyed and find something new to try. I look forward to doing this again next month!

Cheers and much love

-Danielle

Leave a Reply

