April Favourites 2017

Ok so for starters I realize how late this is, but since you guys seem to like my monthly favourites I did not want to skip one. My life has been crazy right now for various reasons, so I am so sorry that this is late. Anyways, this is a list of some of the things that I loved last month. Enjoy!

Fashion

Khaki pants

Lived-in tapered khaki - mission tan

Most of the time I find that I stick to wearing jeans everyday, but on occasion I will experiment with other forms of trousers. Most recently this has been in the form of khaki pants. Ironically I used to hate khakis. When I was younger I was convinced that they made me look weird, so I avoided them at all costs. Recently however, I have begun to love wearing khaki pants. Not only do they look super cute, but they are also really comfortable. The material on good quality khakis is nice and loose, while not being too loose. The material is also nice and breathable, so even on warm days they will not get too hot. Khakis can be found in different colours, but my personal favourite is the classic tan. I think that they go best with a cute bright or pastel coloured sweater and a pair of converse or short boots.

Leather jacket

10316454_hi

The weather here has been absolutely ridiculous. Some days it is cold and rainy and some days it’s warm and sunny. There was even a day last week that we had snow. Snow in May!! As a result my choice in outfits has also changed dramatically day to day. The one constant has however been my leather jacket. Leather jackets are super stylish and are great for pretty much any time of year. They are especially good for weather like this that is constantly changing. On colder days you can wear it with a pair of jeans and a long sleeve shirt. On warmer days with a pair of shorts and a tank top. If you don’t have a nice leather jacket, then a jean jacket or other light military style jacket will also work.

Beauty

My beauty favourites have been pretty consistent with the last few months and haven’t really changed. I have purchased some new products this month though, so look forward to some new beauty favourites next month.

Food

Snackaroons

chocolate-snakaroons

Recently I’ve been going through some personal health issues which forced me to cut a variety of foods out of my diet. Unfortunately this included refined sugars so my sweet tooth was difficult to satiate. I did however find this snack which came very close. Snackaroons are essentially mini packaged macaroons and can be purchased in a variety of flavours including vanilla, banana and chocolate. They are quite tasty and the coconut is just sweet enough without being too overpowering to the other added flavours. The shredded coconut adds a very nice texture and makes it very flaky and a little bit chewy. My personal favourite flavour is definitely the chocolate because I find that it is just a bit sweeter than the other flavours and matches very well with the coconut. This snack is tasty, fairly healthy and as an added bonus is safe for those who are vegan, gluten free, and refined sugar free.

Lactose free vanilla ice cream

8933829541918

Since the macaroons did not fully do away with my sweet cravings, I went looking for something else. This led me to come across Chapman’s lactose free ice cream. Since it is only missing the lactose enzyme it is essentially the exact same as regular dairy ice cream. It tastes just as delicious,but is not quite as frozen so it is a little bit more like soft serve ice cream. It comes in many flavours but my favourite is the simple but classic vanilla. Perhaps because it goes so well with all other deserts, or perhaps it is because it reminds me so much of my childhood. Either way something in me keeps making me reach for the vanilla time and time again, bypassing the other, probably just as delicious flavours. This ice cream is not vegan but it is safe for those who are lactose free, gluten free and or sugar free.

Raw almonds

almonds

While these other snacks on my list are more sweet and slightly less healthy, I have also been obsessed with some very healthy snacks. The most prevalent of these has been almonds. Either plain raw almonds or sometimes when I want a little spice, I will have some tamari almonds. This means that they were seasoned with a gluten free tamari soy sauce. Both the flavoured and unflavoured are delicious and go really well with either fresh fruit or salted dark chocolate. Almonds are a great healthy snack, and pack quite a bit off protein and healthy fats in a small amount. Better yet unless you are allergic to almonds they are a simple snack that is safe for everyone and every health concern.

Books

Chocolate covered Katie

Chocolate-Covered-Katie-Cookbook

As mentioned above, for the past few months I had to cut sugar out of my diet due to personal health issues. Along with sugar I also had to cut out gluten. So naturally, it was incredibly difficult to find gluten and sugar free snacks. I looked around at some recipes on the internet but none really looked all that tasty. It was actually my roommate that told me about this book and its corresponding website. Chocolate Covered Katie is essentially a website dedicated to healthy snack and desert recipes. While not all available recipes are necessarily gluten, dairy and sugar free, they all have options to combat various diets and health concerns. While not overly sweet these recipes were tasty and definitely helped fulfill my cravings for sweet foods. My favourite recipe from the book was the pumpkin granola bars. I would suggest this book to anyone looking for a way to eat super healthy but still indulge their sweet tooth.

TV

Arrested development

Season_3_square

Ok so this is not technically a new show. It came out quite a while ago and I have watched it before. It has been a while though so while looking for a good comedy, I decided tor revisit an old favourite of mine. Arrested Development is honestly one of the funniest shows I have ever seen. The acting is fantastic, and the plot lines are so ridiculous that they border on implausible but are nonetheless hilarious. It centres on a wealthy family who after the main money earning patriarch is sent to prison has to come to grips with their dwindling wealth and living a normal life. This of course comes with its own issues, and even when not as rich, the family still does not lead a particularly “normal” life. I would highly suggest this show to anyone who is a fan of the office. I find it has a fairly similar style of humour.

Thank you so much for reading! I really hope that you enjoyed and that you found something of interest to you.

Cheers and much love

-Danielle

Leave a Reply

